Image

Dorie & James + Mason {Fort Steilacoom Park | Tacoma Family and Engagement Photographer}

30 Apr

_MG_2953Dorie, James, and Mason are one of the the most adorable families ever! The original purpose of this session was for an engagement shoot. Dorie and James are engaged!!! They have the cutest kid, though, seriously. So we made it a dual session. I originally met Dorie through my dear friend, Christine, who was also my officiant at my wedding. I didn’t really have the opportunity to get to know her then but I’m so glad to have had this opportunity to capture these memories for her and her family. James and Dorie are some of the most laid back people I’ve ever met. A lot of folks know that I don’t really shoot weddings but every so often I will. After hanging out with these guys, I was truly hoping they wanted me to also be their wedding photographer because we just got along so amazingly. And I’m pleased that in June, I will be shooting their wedding. YAY! The venue is beautiful and Dorie is going to be one STUNNING bride. I’m kinda sorta looking forward to just hanging out with them some more…trust me…they really are that cool. Mason is going to be such an adorable ring bearer, too! You can see just how much Dorie and James love each other. I usually have to pose couples and give tons of direction because who’s used to having a camera around to document all their PDA’s? These two were such naturals, it made this session such a breeze. They are very clearly in love and absolutely meant to be. Dorie is a girl after my own heart, too. When I asked her about the details of her wedding she came back with “as long as I’ve got my husband and a beer at the end of the day, I’m good.” Did I mention that James picked out her engagement ring without any help? WOW! And I mean, WOW! He did a really good job. Look at the way James looks at his bride-to-be. He looks at her the way all of us women hope for our significant others to look at us. It’s almost a look of disbelief of how he managed to get so lucky.

Dorie and James, I am absolutely thrilled you guys have picked me to capture the special moments waiting to happen on your big day. Your son Mason is amazing and was such a good sport for taking photos. You’re all so photogenic! I’m glad we’ve met and got along famously. =) Going through your photos and seeing the love you guys have for each other and for your son is what I hope for all families to be able to experience, though what you guys have is unique to you. Just fawning over your photos again while posting this has me smiling ear-t0-ear. You guys really have something special. You’re all in my thoughts and prayers and positive vibes as you move closer to your wedding day. I look forward to being there to document your first moments as husband and wife! Congratulations on your commitment to forever with each other. ❤
_MG_2914_MG_2943_MG_2974_MG_2989_MG_2928_MG_2963

 

One Response to “Dorie & James + Mason {Fort Steilacoom Park | Tacoma Family and Engagement Photographer}”

  1. Mercedes May 7, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

    The light there is so pretty! Sweet set of images 🙂

Leave a comment